Our projects

Trans and Non-Binary Youth
Legal Clinic

In addition to the common legal issues that everyone encounters in their lives, trans and non-binary youth generally experience very specific challenges in terms of access to justice: think of the particular rules surrounding changing one’s first name and gender, relationships with school, or the legal autonomy of the child in relation to their parents.

About us

A collaboration with Gender Creative Kids, this legal clinic is for trans and non-binary youth and their families and allies who have legal issues. Whether it is related to the process of changing your first name or designation of sex, recourse for discrimination in the school and health care system, or questions related to immigration documents, our lawyers are trained to answer your questions in a caring and inclusive manner.

 

Our lawyers have received training on the realities and experiences of trans and non-binary youth from the Gender Creative Kids team.

Services offered
  • Legal information (explain the law in a clear and accessible manner);
  • Legal advice (applying the law to a situation and providing professional advice);
  • Document review;
  • Swearing-in of documents.

Services do not include taking over cases, drafting documents and/or legal proceedings and representation in court. However, we will try to refer you to other lawyers in the event that you require these services.

How it works

After making an appointment, you will be able to meet with a lawyer free of charge and in a confidential manner, in order to ask your questions.

 

The clinic is open every Wednesday from 9am to 11am and from 6pm to 8pm.

 

The meetings with the lawyers are 30 minutes long and take place, for the moment, by videoconference or telephone.

Make an appointment

Click here
How to reach us

For any questions regarding the legal clinic or to make an appointment, you can leave a message on the project’s voice mailbox at 1-855-JURIPOP / 1-855-587-4767 ext. 270 or write to: cliniquejtnb@juripop.org.

This project is funded by the Minister of Justice of Québec and is made possible thanks to the collaboration of Gender Creative Kids.

Skip to content

Nos projets

Clinique juridique
Jeunes trans et non-binaires

En plus des enjeux juridiques communs que tout le monde rencontre dans sa vie, les jeunes trans et non-binaires vivent des enjeux d’accès à la justice généralement très spécifiques : pensons aux règles particulières entourant le changement de prénom et de mention du sexe, les relations avec l’école, ou encore à l’autonomie légale de l’enfant par rapport à ses parents.

À propos

Née d’une collaboration avec l’organisme Jeunes identités créatives, cette clinique juridique s’adresse aux jeunes trans et non-binaires ainsi qu’à leurs proches et allié.e.s qui ont des questions de nature juridique. Que ce soit en lien avec le processus de changement de prénom ou de mention du sexe, avec les recours possibles lors de discrimination subie à l’école et dans le système de la santé ou les questions liées aux documents d’immigration, nos avocat.e.s sont formé.e.s pour répondre à vos questions et ce, de manière bienveillante et inclusive.

 

En effet, nos avocat.e.s ont suivi une formation sur les réalités et expériences des jeunes trans et non-binaires offerte par l’équipe de Jeunes identités créatives.

Services offerts
  • Informations juridiques (expliquer la loi de manière claire et accessible);
  • Conseils juridiques (appliquer la loi à une situation et rendre un avis professionnel);
  • Révision de documents;
  • Assermentation de documents.

Les services n’incluent pas la prise en charge de dossiers, la rédaction de documents et/ou de procédures légales et la représentation devant les tribunaux. Toutefois, nous tenterons de vous référer à d’autres avocat.e.s dans l’éventualité où vous auriez besoin de ces services.

Fonctionnement

Suite à une prise de rendez-vous, vous pourrez rencontrer un.e avocat.e gratuitement et de manière confidentielle afin de lui poser vos questions.

 

La clinique est ouverte tous les mercredis de 9h à 11h et de 18h à 20h.

 

Les rencontres avec les avocat.e.s sont d’une durée de 30 minutes et se déroulent, pour le moment, par visioconférence ou téléphone.

Prendre rendez-vous

Cliquez ici
Pour nous joindre

Pour toutes questions concernant la clinique juridique ou pour prendre rendez-vous, vous pouvez laisser un message sur la boîte vocale du projet au 1-855-JURIPOP / 1-855-587-4767 poste 270 ou écrire à cliniquejtnb@juripop.org.

Ce projet est financé par le ministère de la Justice du Québec et est rendu possible grâce à la collaboration de l’organisme Jeunes identités créatives.

Aller au contenu principal