Domestic and sexual violence

Free Training programs

Juripop offers multiple free training programs to lawyers, jurists and other professionals on domestic violence, post-separation violence, and sexual violence.

 

If you have any questions about our training programs,

you can contact our team at formation@juripop.org.

 

To obtain a certificate of participation, fill out this form.

 

To share your thoughts on the podcasts or trainings programs, fill out this form.

General training

Juripop’s general training program on domestic and post-separation violence are offered in four (4) separate sections. This allows lawyers, jurists, and other professionals to develop skills and strategies to better receive, accommodate and support victims throughout their legal proceedings.

Follow the blocks that interest you, or complete all the general training program to join our list of Specialized Lawyers.

BLOCK 1 - CONJUGAL VIOLENCE: UNDERSTANDING BETTER TO ACT BETTER

This course is designed to teach you how to better identify diverse problematics within conjugal violence and coercive control, the different forms of post-separation violence, as well as its consequences that affect the ability of victims to deal with the legal system. Offered by a criminologist with more than 20 years of experience, this course encourages professionals to develop a form of practice that is safe, kind and considerate.

with Claudine Simon, criminologist

Duration : 6 hours

I’m registering ! (in French only)

BLOCK 2 - CHILD VICTIMS OF DOMESTIC VIOLENCE: PRACTICES THAT RESPECT THEIR NEEDS AND PARENTAL AGREEMENTS TAKING RISK INTO ACCOUNT

This course focuses on the realities of children who are exposed to domestic and post-separation violence. It explores the consequences for children, the elements that can increase risk or create a need for greater protection. It will allow professionals to adopt attitudes and behaviors that respect the needs of children exposed to domestic violence.

with Geneviève Lessard, PhD, and Peter Jaffe, PhD

Duration : 6 hours

I’m registering ! (in French only)

BLOCK 3 - THE TREATMENT OF DOMESTIC VIOLENCE IN LAW: CRITICAL PERSPECTIVES AND POSSIBLE SOLUTIONS

This course addresses the roles of various socio-judicial actors who may be involved during civil proceedings, in addition to taking a critical look at the notions of the best interests of the child, co-parenting, parental capacity and parental alienation. With this course, professionals will develop a nuanced reasoning that considers the reality of the victims.

with Simon Lapierre, PhD

Duration : 6 hours

I’m registering ! (in French only)

BLOCK 4 - THE PRACTICE OF LAW IN THE CONTEXT OF DOMESTIC VIOLENCE: CONCRETE TOOLS AND GOOD LEGAL PRACTICES

This course, given by two experienced lawyers, will better equipped lawyers in order to practice family law and civil law in context of domestic violence, from drafting procedures to closing arguments. It aims to encourage legal professionals to improve their plead in domestic violence cases. The course also highlights the strategies, skills, and attitudes that promote the bond of trust and collaboration between the lawyer and the victim, while respecting and considering their reality.

with Me Suzanne Dame, Legal Services Commission, et Me Nathalie Lefebvre, Montreal Legal Aid

Duration : 6 hours

I’m registering ! (in French only)

JURI RDV 2022

JURI RDV is an opportunity to bring together allies working to improve the justice system for victims and survivors of violence. By sharing knowledge, successes and pitfalls with their peers, participants will discover that breaking the isolation in their practice is the foundation for rebuilding trust.

October 28, 2022 – FULL – To sign up for our newsletters and be informed of future events, click here.

JURI BALADOS

JURI BALADOS allow lawyers and other professionals from the legal community to learn about specific topics and issues that they are likely to encounter in their practice with victims and survivors of violence.

This podcast is only available in french.

Click here: Spotify

Click here: Apple podcast

Click here: Youtube

01 - L'origine d'une expertise : entretien avec Me Sophie Gagnon

In this podcast, Me Justine Fortin welcomes Sophie Gagnon, lawyer and Executive Director of Juripop. They discuss the presence of lawyers in issues of sexual and domestic violence and, more importantly, how legal information is one of the central needs of victims and survivors. Together, they recall a small part of Juripop’s organizational history, the genesis of the expertise that the organization has been developing for several years now.

 

02 - INTERACTIONS AVEC LES PERSONNES VICTIMES DE VIOLENCES CONJUGALES ET POST-SÉPARATION : S'ADAPTER POUR MIEUX ACCOMPAGNER

In this podcast, Me Justine Fortin, director of the conjugal and sexual violence programs at Juripop, welcomes her colleagues Me Éliane Malo and Constance Laurin. Together, they deconstruct the preconceived idea of the role of the lawyer to adapt it to a specific practice for victims. Throughout their conversation, they offer concrete avenues that will allow professionals to adapt their interactions with the people they represent. The goal is not to drastically change the way they work, but to encourage lawyers to make small changes that will have a considerable impact and facilitate the lives of the people they help.

03 - LE SENS DES MOTS : VALIDATION ET RECONNAISSANCE DES VIOLENCES PAR LE VOCABULAIRE

In this podcast, Me Justine Fortin and her guests propose a deconstruction of the meaning of words: those to be preferred, but especially those to be avoided. When the right words are used, they validate the experiences of victims and survivors while helping to recognize the violence and its consequences. Changing one’s vocabulary allows one to put the reality of victims and survivors of domestic and sexual violence at the heart of one’s practice and at the heart of the system. To talk about this, Constance Laurin, clinical specialist in conjugal violence at Juripop and Sandrine Ricci, doctoral researcher in sociology and feminist studies, affiliated with the Research Chair on gender-based and sexual violence in higher education (UQAM).

Continuous training

Juripop’s continuing training courses enable lawyers and other professionals to improve their practice by exploring topics in greater depth and highlighting critical issues through discussions with experts and activists.

To be informed of new training courses, click here.

JURI RDV 2022

JURI RDV is an opportunity to bring together allies working to improve the justice system for victims and survivors of violence. By sharing knowledge, successes and pitfalls with their peers, participants will discover that breaking the isolation in their practice is the foundation for rebuilding trust.

October 28, 2022 – FULL – To sign up for our newsletters and be informed of future events, click here.

JURI BALADOS

JURI BALADOS allow lawyers and other professionals from the legal community to learn about specific topics and issues that they are likely to encounter in their practice with victims and survivors of violence.

This podcast is only available in french.

Click here: Spotify

Click here : Apple podcast

Click here: Youtube

01- L'origine d'une expertise : entretien avec Me Sophie Gagnon

In this podcast, Me Justine Fortin welcomes Sophie Gagnon, lawyer and Executive Director of Juripop. They discuss the presence of lawyers in issues of sexual and domestic violence and, more importantly, how legal information is one of the central needs of victims and survivors. Together, they recall a small part of Juripop’s organizational history, the genesis of the expertise that the organization has been developing for several years now.

02 - Interactions avec les personnes victimes de violences conjugales et post-séparation : s'adapter pour mieux accompagner

In this podcast, Me Justine Fortin, director of the conjugal and sexual violence programs at Juripop, welcomes her colleagues Me Éliane Malo and Constance Laurin. Together, they deconstruct the preconceived idea of the role of the lawyer to adapt it to a specific practice for victims. Throughout their conversation, they offer concrete avenues that will allow professionals to adapt their interactions with the people they represent. The goal is not to drastically change the way they work, but to encourage lawyers to make small changes that will have a considerable impact and facilitate the lives of the people they help.

03 - Le sens des mots : validation et reconnaissance des violences par le vocabulaire

In this podcast, Me Justine Fortin and her guests propose a deconstruction of the meaning of words: those to be preferred, but especially those to be avoided. When the right words are used, they validate the experiences of victims and survivors while helping to recognize the violence and its consequences. Changing one’s vocabulary allows one to put the reality of victims and survivors of domestic and sexual violence at the heart of one’s practice and at the heart of the system. To talk about this, Constance Laurin, clinical specialist in conjugal violence at Juripop and Sandrine Ricci, doctoral researcher in sociology and feminist studies, affiliated with the Research Chair on gender-based and sexual violence in higher education (UQAM).

General training

Juripop’s general training program on sexual violence allows lawyers, jurists, and other professionals to develop skills and strategies to better receive, accommodate and support victims and survivors throughout their legal proceedings.

To be informed of new training courses, click here.

Continuous training

Juripop’s continuing training courses enable lawyers and other professionals to improve their practice by exploring topics in greater depth and highlighting critical issues through discussions with experts and activists.

To be informed of new training courses, click here.

This project is entirely funded by the Ministère de la Justice du Québec and is made possible by the availability of trainers, speakers and guests who share our desire to offer quality training to jurists and professionals.

Skip to content

Violences conjugales et sexuelles

Formations gratuites

Juripop offre gratuitement des formations aux avocat·e·s, juristes et autres professionnel·le·s sur les violences conjugales et post-séparation ainsi que sur les violences à caractère sexuel.

 

Si vous avez des questions en lien avec nos formations,

communiquez avec notre équipe à l’adresse formation@juripop.org.

Formations générales

Les formations générales de Juripop sur les violences conjugales et post-séparation ont été conçues en un parcours de quatre (4) blocs permettant aux juristes et autres professionnel·le·s de développer un savoir-être et des stratégies pour mieux accueillir et accompagner les personnes victimes dans leurs démarches juridiques.

Suivez les blocs qui vous intéressent ou complétez l’ensemble des formations générales pour joindre la Banque d’avocat·e·s spécialisé·e·s.

BLOC 1 - La violence conjugale : Mieux comprendre pour mieux agir

Cette formation permet d’apprendre à mieux identifier les problématiques de violence conjugale et de contrôle coercitif, les différentes formes de violences post-séparation ainsi que les conséquences qui affectent la capacité des personnes victimes à composer avec le système civil. Offerte par une criminologue possédant plus de 20 ans d’expérience, cette formation favorise chez les professionnel·le·s qui la suivent le développement de pratiques bienveillantes et sécuritaires.

avec Claudine Simon, criminologue

Durée : 6 heures

Je m’inscris !

BLOC 2 - Les enfants victimes de violence conjugale : Des pratiques qui respectent leur besoins et des ententes parentales qui tiennent compte du risque

Cette formation se concentre sur le vécu des enfants exposés à la violence conjugale et post-séparation. Elle explore les conséquences chez les enfants, les éléments qui peuvent augmenter le risque ou créer un facteur de protection autour de ceux-ci et elle permettra aux professionnel·le·s d’adopter les attitudes et comportements qui respectent les besoins des enfants exposés à la violence conjugale.

avec Geneviève Lessard, PhD, et Peter Jaffe, PhD

Durée : 6 heures

Je m’inscris !

BLOC 3 - Le traitement de la violence conjugale en droit : Regards critiques et pistes de solution

Cette formation aborde  les rôles des différents acteurs et actrices socio-judiciaires pouvant être impliqués en cours de procédures civiles, en plus de poser un regard critique sur les notions de meilleur intérêt de l’enfant, de coparentalité, de capacité parentale et d’aliénation parentale. Elle amènera les professionnel·le·s qui la suive à développer un argumentaire nuancé qui tient compte de la réalité des personnes victimes.

avec Simon Lapierre, PhD

Durée : 6 heures

Je m’inscris !

Bloc 4 - La pratique du droit en contexte de violence conjugale : Outils concrets et bonnes pratiques judiciaires

Cette formation, donnée par deux avocates d’expérience, permettra aux juristes d’être plus outillé·e·s dans la pratique du droit de la famille et du droit civil en contexte de violence conjugale, de la rédaction de procédures au plaidoyer. Elle vise à amener les professionnel·le·s du droit à mieux plaider la violence conjugale et ses conséquences. La formation met également en lumière les stratégies, les habiletés et les attitudes qui favorisent le lien de confiance et la collaboration entre l’avocat·e et la personne victime, dans le respect de son vécu.

avec Me Suzanne Dame, Commission des services juridiques, et Me Nathalie Lefebvre, Aide juridique de Montréal

Durée : 6 heures

Je m’inscris !

JURI RDV 2022

Les JURI RDV sont l’occasion de réunir dans un même lieu les allié·e·s œuvrant à l’amélioration du système de justice pour les personnes victimes et survivantes de violences. En partageant connaissances, réussites et écueils avec leurs pairs, les participant·e·s découvriront que briser l’isolement dans leur pratique est à la base de rebâtir la confiance. 

28 octobre 2022 – COMPLET – Pour vous inscrire à nos infolettres et être informé·e·s de nos futurs événements, cliquez ici

JURI BALADOS

Les JURI BALADOS permettent aux juristes et autres professionnel·le·s de la communauté juridique de se former sur certains sujets précis et de s’ouvrir à des enjeux qu’ils ou elles rencontreront très certainement dans leur pratique auprès de personnes victimes et survivantes de violences.

Par ici : Spotify

01 - L'origine d'une expertise : entretien avec Me Sophie Gagnon

Dans ce balado, Me Justine Fortin reçoit Sophie Gagnon, avocate et Directrice générale de Juripop. Elles discutent de la présence des avocat·e·s dans les questions de violences à caractère sexuel et de violences conjugales et, surtout, de comment l’information juridique est l’un des besoins centraux des personnes victimes et survivantes. Ensemble, elles se remémorent un petit bout de l’histoire organisationnelle de Juripop, la genèse de l’expertise que l’organisme développe depuis maintenant plusieurs années.

Par ici : Spotify

Formations continues

Les formations continues de Juripop permettent aux juristes et autres professionnel·le·s du droit d’améliorer leur pratique en explorant de manière plus pointue certains sujets et mettent en lumière des enjeux cruciaux.

Pour être informé·e de l’ajout de formations continues, appuyez ici.

JURI RDV 2022

Les JURI RDV sont l’occasion de réunir dans un même lieu les allié·e·s œuvrant à l’amélioration du système de justice pour les personnes victimes et survivantes de violences. En partageant connaissances, réussites et écueils avec leurs pairs, les participant·e·s découvriront que briser l’isolement dans leur pratique est à la base de rebâtir la confiance. 

28 octobre 2022 – COMPLET – Pour vous inscrire à nos infolettres et être informé·e·s de nos futurs événements, cliquez ici

JURI BALADOS

Les JURI BALADOS permettent aux juristes et autres professionnel·le·s de la communauté juridique de se former sur certains sujets précis et de s’ouvrir à des enjeux qu’ils ou elles rencontreront très certainement dans leur pratique auprès de personnes victimes et survivantes de violences.

Par ici : Spotify

01 - L'origine d'une expertise : entretien avec Me Sophie Gagnon

Dans ce balado, Me Justine Fortin reçoit Sophie Gagnon, avocate et Directrice générale de Juripop. Elles discutent de la présence des avocat·e·s dans les questions de violences à caractère sexuel et de violences conjugales et, surtout, de comment l’information juridique est l’un des besoins centraux des personnes victimes et survivantes. Ensemble, elles se remémorent un petit bout de l’histoire organisationnelle de Juripop, la genèse de l’expertise que l’organisme développe depuis maintenant plusieurs années.

Par ici : Spotify

Formations générales

Les formations générales de Juripop sur les violences à caractère sexuel ont été conçues afin de permettre aux juristes et autres professionnel·le·s de développer un savoir-être et des stratégies pour mieux accueillir et accompagner les personnes victimes et survivantes dans leurs démarches juridiques.

Pour être informé·e de l’ajout de formations, appuyez ici.

Formations continues

Les formations continues de Juripop permettent aux juristes et autres professionnel·le·s du droit d’améliorer leur pratique en explorant de manière plus pointue certains sujets et mettent en lumière des enjeux cruciaux.

Pour être informé·e de l’ajout de formations continues, appuyez ici.

Ce projet est entièrement financé par le ministère de la Justice du Québec et est rendu possible grâce à la disponibilité des formateur·trice·s, conférencier·ère·s et invité·e·s qui partagent notre désir d’offrir de la formation de qualité aux juristes et professionnel·le·s du Québec.

Aller au contenu principal