17 Nov 2022

Three new members on the Juripop Board of Directors


Juripop announces the arrival of two new directors, Me Mélanie Julien and Me Julie-Catherine Pélissier, and one new director, Me René Ramirez Aguilar, and thanks three directors whose terms have recently ended, namely Me Danielle Casavant, Nolywé Delannon, Ph.D and Me Maria Valente Mocelin.

Profile of the new members of the Board of Directors

Me Mélanie Julien is Senior Director, Legal Affairs, Corporate and International Sector at the Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec (CDPQ). Mélanie is a graduate of the Université du Québec à Montréal in law with a specialization in commercial and employment law, and has been a member of the Québec Bar since 1998. With nearly 25 years of experience with the CDPQ, Mélanie has developed an expertise in secretarial and corporate governance that will be put to good use to strengthen Juripop’s governance.

Julie-Catherine Pélissier is Director of National Negotiations and Social Security at the Centrale des syndicats du Québec (CSQ), a long-time partner of the CSQ-Juripop Moot Court Competition. Julie-Catherine holds a law degree from the University of Sherbrooke, has been a member of the Quebec Bar since 1998, and received a university certification in corporate governance from the Collège des administrateurs de sociétés in 2018. Julie-Catherine succeeds Danielle Casavant as the CSQ representative on the Juripop Board of Directors. With her previous experience as a director and her social involvement as a member of international missions to the International Labour Organization, EI and European and Canadian trade union organizations, Julie-Catherine is a definite asset to our organization.

Mr. René Ramirez Aguilar Mr. René Ramirez Aguilar completed his post-graduate studies in Mexico before obtaining a Bachelor of Laws degree from the University of Ottawa and a post-graduate diploma in notarial law from the University of Montreal. He is fluent in French, English and Spanish. He is a legal advisor in matters of personal data protection. In particular, he acts as Privacy Officer for CPHS and is a member of the International Association of Privacy Professionals (IAPP). René is a committed legal professional who sits on the boards of two pan-Canadian organizations: Families Canada and the Winnipeg-based Canadian Pride Historical Society. His areas of interest include the legal support of non-profit organizations, a clientele that Juripop knows well.  He takes over from Me Maria Valente Mocelin as the representative of the Chambre des notaires du Québec on Juripop’s Board of Directors.

Juripop would like to thank and acknowledge the involvement of the outgoing directors

The outgoing vice-president of Juripop, Me Danielle Casavant, sat on the Board of Directors since 2015 as a representative of the Centrale des syndicats du Québec. Danielle played a key role in Juripop’s strategic planning and ensured the organization’s sustainability by acting as interim president for several months. We thank her for the reliability of her commitment and the depth of her contribution to the organization’s strategic issues.

Nolywé Delannon joined Juripop’s Board of Directors in 2020 and has accompanied the organization in its work on communications and on equity, diversity and inclusion. Her knowledge of the social economy and the community sector was a great asset to the organization.

Finally, Me Maria Valente Mocelin acted as a representative of the Chambre des notaires du Québec on the Board of Directors and contributed to the work of the organization by sitting on the Human Resources Committee.

“Juripop is fortunate to attract committed, competent people with extremely rich life experiences to its Board of Directors. It is with great joy that we welcome Mélanie, Julie-Catherine and René to the board. We also thank the invaluable involvement of Danielle, Nolywé and Maria who have contributed their time and skills to Juripop’s mission in recent years. ” – Me Pascale Pageau, President of Juripop


Here is the composition of Juripop’s new Board of Directors:

  • Me Pascale Pageau, Ad. E., President
  • Ginette Laurencelle, Vice-president
  • Me Félix Bernard, Secretary
  • Manon Durivage, IAS.A, FCPA, FCA, Treasurer
  • Annick Désy, Director
  • Me Pierre Fournier-Simard, Director
  • Julien Nepveu-Villeneuve, Director
  • Cathy Wong, Director
  • Me Mélanie Julien, Director
  • Me Julie-Catherine Pélissier, Director
  • Me René Ramirez Aguilar, Director
  •  Me Julie-Catherine Pélissier, Director
  • Me René Ramirez Aguilar, Director
Skip to content